The National Indoor Climbing Award Scheme (NICAS) is a UK wide scheme providing a structured and motivating approach to climbing within an indoor setting. Candidates work through 5 levels and the scheme is transferable through to GCSE P.E.

How does NICAS work?

The scheme comprises of five levels aimed at complete novices to expert climbers aged 7 and above. Upon registering with us candidates will receive their very own logbook where they can log their experience and achievements. After achieving each level they are awarded with a shiny new certificate!

A brief summary of the levels are as follows-

  1. Foundation Climber
    An entry level aimed at novices that recognises their ability to climb safety under supervision.
  2. Top Rope Climber
    Aimed at promoting good practice in climbing and bouldering unsupervised on an artificial wall.
  3. Technical Climber
    A more advanced top roping and bouldering level that focuses on developing technique and movement skills.
  4. Lead Climber
    Concentrates on the skills required to both lead climb and belay a lead climber.
  5. Advanced Climber
    The top level that focuses on improving performance, a deeper understanding of climbing systems and the wider world of climbing.

How Much Does NICAS Cost?

The cost of a logbook is £10 for a level 1-3 combined book and a NICAS folder to keep your logbook safe. For levels 4-5 a separate book is required costing £7.50. Replacement NICAS logbooks of all levels are £7.50.